About Us

A warm welcome to the Los Angeles Consular Corps website! We are the Consuls General and Honorary Consuls, representing 99 countries, which makes us the world’s third largest consular corps and the second largest in the U.S.. All of us are appointed by our home governments and accepted to represent them by the U.S. federal government.

The Vienna Convention on Consular Relations and customary international law create the legal framework for the operation of Consulates General and Honorary Consulates.

The LACC presently consists of 64 Consulates General and 35 Honorary Consulates. Career Consuls General are full time diplomats sent from their home country, while Honorary Consuls are permanent residents or U.S. citizens residing in the County of Los Angeles.